Leave a Comment

Dodgers’ Dave Roberts named Manager of the Year

Written by Liz Charre, President

Dave Roberts, also known as “The Skip,” has just been announced the National League Manager of the Year according to MLB Network. He is the second Dodger Manager in history to win this award.

“I am speechless, I really am,” stated Roberts during a press conference. “I look back at those managers that have won this award and I am humbled.”

The only other manager that has won was Tommy Lasorda back in 1983 and again in 1988. Roberts out-beat last year’s Manager of the Year, Joe Maddon, by twice the amount of votes.

Roberts led the Dodgers to their fourth consecutive National League West division title back in late September. He then led the Dodgers to beat Dusty Baker and the Washington Nationals in the NL Division Series to move on to play Joe Maddon and the Chicago Cubs in the National League Championship Series. The Dodgers did lose that series but it wasn’t the end for Roberts and the Los Angeles Dodgers.

In his rookie season as Dodgers manager, Roberts led his team to win 91 games having several of his star players on the disabled list. He is the sixth manager to win the Manager of the Year award in his rookie season. He joins Hal Laner, Dusty Baker, Joe Girardi, Matt Williams, and Jeff Banister as other managers who have won this prestigious award in their first season.

Roberts’ goal this season was to inspire and get to know every single one of his players. Although it got difficult, he was able to build a close relationship with them until the very end.

The Dodgers organization has had a tremendous week thus far. Last night Corey Seager was announced as the Rookie of the Year and today Dave Roberts was given the Manager of the Year award. Now the question is who is next? None of the Dodger pitchers were nominated for the Cy Young Award presented tonight but tomorrow, Corey Seager was nominated for the Most Valuable Player award. Will the Dodgers take three out of the four awards or will another player out-beat Seager at his first shot of winning the MVP award? Tune in tomorrow to find out.

Photo from Google Images.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s