Alumni of the Mount
Leave a Comment

An Athenian Print founder and alum reminisces on starting the organization

Name: Bianca Silva 
Graduation Year: 2015
Major: Journalism & New Media with a Minor in Multimedia Communications
Current Occupation: Bassrush Contributing Writer and Graduate Student

What did you gain/benefit from being a student at Mount Saint Mary’s University?
Attending Mount Saint Mary’s University changed my life, simply put. It shaped me into a woman I never believed I’d become, I really found myself during my time there and it’s all thanks to the amazing women I met while I was there. There is a real sense of community at the Mount that’s hard to ignore. Your peers become your support system when you need it most and because of this peer support, I gained confidence, ambition, and strength within myself that I was able to help give to others. To this day, these women continue to support me in so many ways and I am so grateful I can still call them my closest friends.

If you could go back, what would you have done differently as an undergraduate student? Although I was super involved during my Junior and Senior year, I wish I had gotten involved earlier in my undergraduate career. I declared myself as a nursing major my Freshman year and at the beginning of my Sophomore year, I changed to a Biology major, but both majors left little to no time to get involved around campus. It wasn’t until I declared Journalism & New Media my major going into my Junior year that I found my purpose through school and found more time to get involved. Being involved in clubs and orgs, definitely made the amazing experience I had in college.

What advice would you give to current students at the Mount?
Definitely get involved in as much as you can and as much as your schedule allows. However, always keep your studies at a priority. You will get out as much as you put in, as cliche as it sounds it’s 100% accurate. You will meet some of the most amazing and empowering women, and men, here that will be your biggest supporters, motivators, and family away from family – embrace it!

What is one of your favorite memories from the Mount?
How could I just pick one? I think one of my favorite memories is when myself, and a group of girls decided to start The Athenian Print. It took forever to get it approved, started, and really gain some momentum but once it did, it was so worth it. We would meet every week for the executive board meetings and even though we were all busy and tired, I think it was kind of an escape for us all and we all enjoyed being a part of something amazing! It still brings a huge smile to my face to see that it is still going, and getting better over time – I’m so proud to see where it is today.

What has been your biggest challenge post graduation?
I hate to say it, but finding a job has been the biggest challenge for me so far. I currently write for an amazing company that I’ve followed since I was in high school, and it has been so rewarding! However, it isn’t a full time job, so I am still on the hunt for something full time! I think it’s important to remain positive, keep your options open, but also stay true to your goals. I had pursued the music industry vigorously during my undergraduate career and it didn’t really lead me anywhere initially, but had I given up or gotten discouraged, I wouldn’t have landed the position I have today. It’s definitely difficult to remain positive at times, but if you want it badly enough, it’ll happen for you. Never stop following your dreams, they can most definitely become a reality so go out there and make yourself proud.

What is one of your goals at the moment?
I’m currently working on my Masters Degree in Music Industry Administration, so the goal is to graduate! I’m also plugging away at my writing, constantly networking with people in the industry, and working towards earning a full time position in the industry.

Finish the sentence (Inspired by Oprah’s Soulful Sunday)
I am happiest when: I am reminded that I’m on the right track in life, the universe has a funny way of doing this so when it speaks to you, listen.
The biggest choice I had to make to fulfill my destiny: Is to choose to never give up on myself or my dreams no matter what anyone else says.

Follow Bianca’s journey via social media:
Instagram & Twitter: @biancalexandraa
Check out bassrush.com as well to see what Bianca is writing about.

Leave a Reply

