Alumni of the Mount
Leave a Comment

We should all aim for greatness

Name: Tamara Murga
Graduation Year: 2016
Major: Journalism and New Media, minor in Creative Advertising
Current Occupation: Freelance journalist/photographer and Los Angeles Magazine Intern

What did you gain and benefit from being a student at Mount Saint Mary’s University?

Aside from a great education, I definitely gained self-confidence. With all the opportunities available at the Mount, I was able to get out of my comfort zone – extremely important for the career field I chose.

If you could go back, what would you have done differently as an undergraduate student?

Definitely would have interned more. Many places offering internship opportunities prefer juniors and seniors. I didn’t realize that making that one of my biggest priorities would be so important.

What advice would you give to current students at the Mount?

Prioritize what is already on your full plate and do not procrastinate.

What is one of your favorite memories from the Mount?

College is definitely the place where I met some of my best friends. I’ll always cherish how much we pushed each other to strive and find our voice!

What has been your biggest challenge post graduation?

Finding a job. Many career fields are competitive, but that only incites us to polish up our resumes and climb our way up the latter.

What is one of your goals at the moment? (Work or life related)

I am very happy to have landed a much-awaited internship at LA Magazine.

Finish the sentence (Inspired by Oprah’s Soulful Sunday)

I am happiest when: I am around loved ones.

The biggest choice I had to make to fulfill my destiny: was to let go of situations that I had just settled for, rather than strive for what I really wanted. We should all aim for greatness.

Follow Tamara’s journey via social media:
Twitter/Instagram: @tammyxmurga

Leave a Reply

