Faces of the Mount
Leave a Comment

A Librarian in the making

The Faces of the Mount

Name: Taryn
Major: English

“I transferred from Knox College in Galesburg, Illinois and yes, it’s just as small as it sounds. When I was there, I only had a couple of friends because it was so cliquey. Everyone stayed within their selective group of friends as if it were a high school and I didn’t care for that.

Here, I have friends from all over. This school is so diverse and a lot nicer, if you want to know the truth. Another thing, it’s a lot less geeky, which isn’t a bad thing, but over there, everyone was socially awkward. It made conversations short and stale, there was very little depth. I grew up in Colorado and there’s not a lot of diversity there either. I only had one person-of-color throughout 12th grade. Coming here was what I needed. I’ve enjoyed the company and my new friends. There were few genuine exchanges between people at Knox College and I was unhappy about it. So, I’m lucky that I found this school.

My mom actually went to the Women’s Conference at Doheny and she wound up sitting at a table with a bunch of professors. She mentioned that I was taking a break from school and that I eventually wanted to go back, but elsewhere. They suggested I come take a look. Long story short, I visited the campus and immediately loved it. The atmosphere was really nice and I was really happy that the library was in an old sanctuary.

I see myself working at a library or with kids after I graduate, and eventually going to graduate school for Library Sciences. I had no idea what to do with my English degree, but I knew I loved libraries and books. And I thought, why not be a librarian? I’ve never grown out of young adult fiction.

I think there’s a good chance that I will write a novel, but I don’t want to make it my career. I don’t want to be pressured to write and fill in a blank document because I have to. I want to be able to write when I feel like it. The sheer isolation of it would drive me crazy.

To me, reading books and writing books are different. When you’re a librarian, you get to meet a lot of people, which is something I enjoy. I think the difference is largely the fact that I don’t have to be the “world’s greatest librarian,” or hold a title as most writers’ desire. I just need to take care of the people that come to me for help. I don’t have to exceed expectations. With that aside, when I read books, I’m outside of my head. Whereas writing books, I’m deeper within it. I don’t think it’s a good idea to do it full time. So, that’s what I want to do.

The idea of being a librarian really is romanticized in my head. I encourage my friends to read books even if I’ve given them stacks before. I’ve given my friend Tanya a list of books to read and I think I’m giving her another one soon. It’s getting a bit crazy.”

Leave a Reply

