Faces of the Mount
Comments 3

Tomorrow’s female surgeons

Faces of the Mount

Student: Ashley
Major: Biology

 

My advisor asked me, “What made you want to be in this major? Who inspired you?”

I was like, I did. Women aren’t really focusing on this major. Where do you see women surgeons nowadays? You don’t see that. Especially heart surgeons. I understand that it’s really difficult and we don’t get that much attention or support but I feel like all that matters is focusing on us. If we can do it, we can do it.

I had friends who were in the program but because it was tough, they quit. I’m [trying to] persuade younger people to be in the program. People find it very challenging so I wanted to take that challenge. I want to be a surgeon. This is my choice.

3 Comments

  1. I’m a third year at the mount. Major is Biochemistry. I’m applying to medical school and perusing a career to be a Cardiothoracic Surgeon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

