Faces of the Mount
Leave a Comment

I wanted to be the best of the best

The Faces of the Mount

Student: Destanee
Major: Nursing

 

“I wanted to be a lawyer ever since I was little. I grew up in a really hard home my dad was abusive and my aunt had an eating disorder. I kind of had a really unstable environment so it really interested me in being a lawyer, specifically civil law, because I wanted to make a difference in people’s lives. In high school, I was super determined to go to Harvard Law–I wanted to be the best of the best.

Halfway through high school, my mom threw out her back and it was really rough. Obviously, I’m not upset about it but it was rough because, since my mom was a nurse, her income was cut in half and my dad picked up two jobs, so he wasn’t really home all the time. So at 16, I was taking care of my mom, my three-year-old brother, and my 15-year-old brother. It was hard because Lucas, my, 3-year-old brother at the time, couldn’t understand that my mom couldn’t get up and move, or cook, so I was cooking. I was cleaning. I had to make sure Lucas got picked up from preschool, and when he got sick I took care of him. In the meantime I was doing yearbook in school, I was in honor classes, club, and varsity tennis, and I worked as a babysitter when I could so I had to balance everything out.

I think that’s when I really started to second guess the whole law thing. I had some family in law and I had talked to them about it and it was already skewing me. But I started to second guess it because of the fact that I wanted to care for people. I did talk to a lot of people, specifically women, to hear their take on it. Believe it or not, there were 40 or 45 and didn’t have kids. Another thing, right around the time my mom got hurt, my dad had a really close friend who had a two-year-old little girl. She had developmental delays. They weren’t sure exactly what it was but they asked me to babysit her. By the time she was 4, she got diagnosed with autism. She was nonverbal and probably the most delayed little girl I’ve seen as far as autism so it was a severe autism. But I was there for that. They taught me how to take care of her, how to give her her medications, I had been there to teach her almost everything because they had so much going on as far as their medical bills. I was there for her losing her first tooth. Her parents didn’t even get to see that–I did. I got to experience that. I felt like between my mom and her, I think that I’m a more caring person and I wanted to go into a field that was like that. So, I thought nursing would be a better fit.”

Leave a Reply

